Sourdough September

Sourdough, plus Lux

Although I’ve still not got a kitchen, and can’t bake – seven weeks and counting – doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about baking. I think about baking a lot. I wish I could just knock up a batch of cookies, or put make some bread. I have, at least, been tending my sourdough starter, which is quietly biding its time at the back of the fridge, not entirely dormant, but not particularly active.

Sadly, I still won’t have a kitchen, or an oven, until late October, so I won’t be able to do any naturally leavened loaves during Sourdough September. This is the annual event organised by the Real Bread Campaign, a series of “local events and activities to help share sourdough secrets and demystify the delicious delights of the oldest way of raising a loaf.”

Not only is making your own bread not that difficult,  creating your own natural leaven, or sourdough culture, to use instead of commercial yeast, isn’t either. Read all about it here.

Oh, and that’s Lux with my sourdough. I notice she didn’t wipe her feet when she came in from the building site, which isn’t very hygienic. I’ll have a word with her about that before she heads off to the spa (okay, cattery) while me and Fran get out of the way of the builders for a week, firstly by walking the South Downs Way from Lewes to Winchester.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Sourdough September

  1. Michael Etherington

    Hi Bring some sourdough with you for Devon in October!

Leave a Reply

